My Christmas Story

One of my favorite things about the holidays is watching the movie “A Christmas Story.” The Red Ryder BB Gun always reminds me of the time a couple decades ago when I ran across a recipe for starlings in The Nero Wolfe Cookbook, and decided to give it a try.

I was living in the city at the time and harvesting dinner in the backyard with the old family shotgun didn’t seem like a good idea, so I picked up a Red Ryder BB gun at GI Joes. Before long I managed to get dinner in the oven without shooting my eye out.

The starling presented well, little drumsticks and all. It looked like a roast turkey scaled down for Barbie and Ken. It tasted pretty good too. I keep offering to fix it for friends and family …but so far no takers.

4 Responses to “My Christmas Story”

  1. B. Elliot Witten Says:

    That sounds tasty. Mini-turkey.

  2. RONNIE HAACK Says:

    DID YOU EAT IT?

  3. shari bigalk Says:

    Alrighty then……. and um…….ewwwwwww. Could have made a down pillow for Barbie out of the feathers maybe?

Leave a Reply

